Group Outreach and Assistance volunteers

The Freecycle Group Outreach and Assistance (GOA) volunteers are available as a resource for moderators for support or advice on any Freecycle issues they may be facing. GOA volunteers have the authority and experience to be the final arbiter of any issue out there.

If you are unsure of how to proceed with an issue, especially a delicate or confidential one that would be inappropriate to post on the Freecycle Leadership Community, then your first port of call should be the GOA. Issues may be because of rogue 'Freecycle' groups misusing the Freecycle name; problems relating to relationship with local authorities, sensitive issues with fellow mods or neighboring groups, general concerns about members; or just to let them know about something good that has happened within your group, etc.

They are also volunteers just like everyone else, and may be pushed for time with many complex and sensitive jobs, so do be patient unless you are having a group emergency.

Stepping down as moderator

If you have moved out of the area of your Town group or if your circumstances have changed and you need to pass on your Freecycle, group,please notify your GOA.

Holiday and Emergency Cover ­

We encourage you to recruit a backup moderator(s) for your group as soon as possible to avoid the need to arrange cover for holidays and emergencies. With your own team in place it is much easier to run your group as it is no longer just dependent on your own efforts. It provides a natural way of having cover for holidays, emergencies and if you just want a day off! It also means there will be cover if you lose internet connection or have something happen which means you have to be away for some time.

If you don’t have a backup in place yet your GOA can arrange for an interim moderator to provide a holiday and emergency cover service for the period of time you need cover. To arrange this, please contact your GOA.

If at all possible give at least a few days notice as it takes time to get set up. If it is an emergency they will work with you to find a way. Please just contact them as soon as you know that you need cover.

How can I recruit another moderator?

Here is everything you need to know for recruiting a new co-mod. Feel free to contact your GOA if you have any problems or concerns.

Problem members

If a member is troubling you or another member, let your GOA know about it. If it is appropriate for the member to be removed, GOA will initiate the process.

How to Contact Your GOA

Please refer to the table below and contact the Group Outreach and Assistance volunteer (GOA) for your country, state, or region.

If you cannot find your GOA in the list, contact the Help team. Please include your country in the subject of your message so the appropriate GOA will respond.

Information updated Oct. 2016

International

Australia australiagoa@freecycle.org
Canada canadagoa@freecycle.org (except Quebec)
Español espanol@freecycle.org
France France@freecycle.org
Ireland Ireland@freecycle.org
New Zealand NZ@freecycle.org
Quebec Quebec@freecycle.org
International International@freecycle.org

United Kingdom

East East@freecycle.org
East Midlands EastMidlands@freecycle.org
London London@freecycle.org
North East NorthEast@freecycle.org
Northern Ireland NorthernIreland@freecycle.org
North West NorthWest@freecycle.org
Scotland Scotland@freecycle.org
South East SouthEast@freecycle.org
South West SouthWest@freecycle.org
Wales Wales@freecycle.org
West Midlands WestMidlands@freecycle.org
Yorkshire and the Humber YorkshireHumber@freecycle.org

United States of America

Alabama Alabama@freecycle.org
Alaska Alaska@freecycle.org
Arizona Arizona@freecycle.org
Arkansas Arkansas@freecycle.org
California California@freecycle.org
Colorado Colorado@freecycle.org
Connecticut Connecticut@freecycle.org
Delaware Delaware@freecycle.org
District of Columbia districtofcolumbia@freecycle.org
Florida Florida@freecycle.org
Georgia Georgia@freecycle.org
Guam Guam@freecycle.org
Hawaii Hawaii@freecycle.org
Idaho Idaho@freecycle.org
Illinois Illinois@freecycle.org
Indiana Indiana@freecycle.org
Iowa Iowa@freecycle.org
Kansas Kansas@freecycle.org
Kentucky Kentucky@freecycle.org
Louisiana Louisiana@freecycle.org
Maine Maine@freecycle.org
Maryland Maryland@freecycle.org
Massachusetts Massachusetts@freecycle.org
Michigan Michigan@freecycle.org
Minnesota Minnesota@freecycle.org
Mississippi Mississippi@freecycle.org
Missouri Missouri@freecycle.org
Montana Montana@freecycle.org
Nebraska Nebraska@freecycle.org
Nevada Nevada@freecycle.org
New Hampshire NewHampshire@freecycle.org
New Jersey NewJersey@freecycle.org
New Mexico NewMexico@freecycle.org
New York NewYork@freecycle.org
North Carolina NorthCarolina@freecycle.org
North Dakota NorthDakota@freecycle.org
Ohio Ohio@freecycle.org
Oklahoma Oklahoma@freecycle.org
Oregon Oregon@freecycle.org
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania@freecycle.org
Rhode Island RhodeIsland@freecycle.org
South Carolina SouthCarolina@freecycle.org
South Dakota SouthDakota@freecycle.org
Tennessee Tennessee@freecycle.org
Texas Texas@freecycle.org
Utah Utah@freecycle.org
Vermont Vermont@freecycle.org
Virginia Virginia@freecycle.org
Washington Washington@freecycle.org
West Virginia WestVirginia@freecycle.org
Wisconsin Wisconsin@freecycle.org
Wyoming Wyoming@freecycle.org

Tags: #fcmodman

<< Return to Mod Manual Home